North Carolina Life and Health Course Package

The state of North Carolina requires you to take a pre-licensing course if you want either a life insurance license or an accident and health or sickness insurance license. These licenses are necessary to do business in the field, and there are only a few positions that don't need the pre-licensing course.

Package Discount

If you want to work in both life and health insurance, you will need to take both pre-licensing courses. We have packaged both together providing you convenience and a discount! Pass the courses on your schedule for less than if you bought them separately.

Course Details

Both courses follow all of the guidelines set forth by the Department of Insurance, and cover all of the material that will be on the state licensing exams. The topics for the life insurance course include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Basic Principles of Life Insurance and The Insurance Industry
  • Life Insurance Policies, Provisions, Options, and Riders
  • Life Insurance Premiums, Proceeds, and Beneficiaries
  • Life Insurance Underwriting and Policy Issue
  • North Carolina Statutes and Regulations

The topics for the health insurance course include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Health and Accident Insurance
  • Health Insurance Providers
  • Medical Expense Insurance
  • Accidental Death & Dismemberment Insurance
  • Health Insurance Policy Provisions

Each course is 20 hours, easy to follow, and presents the information clearly as well as provides hints throughout to help you understand the concepts.

Each final exam has 150 multiple choice questions and you will have 150 minutes (2½ hours) to complete it. To pass, you will need to correctly answer 70% of the questions, or 105 of them, in the allotted time. If you do not pass, you can take the test again, as many times as you need to in order to pass. You cannot sit for the state licensing exam until you pass the appropriate course.

State License Exam

Once you pass the test for a course, you will receive a Certificate of Completion available for immediate download, which also acts as an Exam Admission Ticket for the corresponding state licensing exam. You'll take the Exam Admission Ticket with you to the testing site when you sit for the exam. Each is valid for up to 90 days and up to 5 attempts on the exam, but only for the exam corresponding to the pre-licensing course; you cannot use a life insurance Exam Admission Ticket to sit for the accident and health or sickness licensing exam even if you have time and attempts left (and vice versa). If you do not pass the state exam within 90 days or on one of your first 5 attempts, you will need to retake the pre-licensing course and receive a new Exam Admission Ticket. Each state exam is 75 minutes (1 hour, 15 minutes) long.

To sit for either state exam, you will need to make a reservation. To do so, visit www.pearsonvue.com and select "Make an Exam Reservation". Once you pass the state licensing exam, you must complete an electronic application at www.nipr.com.

$
Register Now

Life Insurance
Pre-Licensing Course

$
Register Now » Learn More

Health (Accident and Health or Sickness) Insurance Pre-Licensing

$
Register Now » Learn More

Life and Health Insurance
Pre-licensing Course Package

$
Register Now » Learn More